I Cannot Buy Your Love with Promises

A sonnet relevant to the following theme: 

“There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love.” 1 John 4:18 (ESV)

 

I Cannot Buy Your Love with Promises

I cannot buy your love with promises,
Whether sincere or built on empty words.
If a purchase is what a promise is,
That love is cheap, debased, and not assured.
The only love worth anything at all
Will never tell me what I have to say,
Is freely given, unconditional.
No matter what, it loves me anyway.
I cannot prove a single thing to you
By simply speaking what you want to hear.
I am much more: the love I give is true,
And I have shown you that over the years.
A love that fears fails to trust I love back
And is not love at all, for the choice it lacks.

© Ryanne Mikunda

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑